Curry and Cadavers

Today we had our first Gross Anatomy lab. I realize that y’all probably aren’t nearly as excited about this as I am, and you may actually be quite repulsed by the thought. That’s ok. We can still be friends. It was, for me, though, a monumental occasion. I’ve been anxiously anticipating this experience for years. Literally, years. It was awesome. My lab partners and I (there are four of us all together) got along really well and I think we’ll be a great team this year! That’s all I’m going to say about that here, because I realize this is a food blog and talking about dissection probably wouldn’t be appreciated. Moving on!

Yesterday I baked pitas and then made a big bowl of this delicious curry chicken salad to stuff inside them. I started by marinating boneless chicken thighs in pineapple juice, salt, and pepper. Why pineapple juice, you ask? Well, I had some crushed pineapple with breakfast yesterday and had some leftover in the fridge. So I drained the juice off and used it. Rule #2 of being a medical student is “Don’t let anything go to waste.” Rule #1 is “LEARN ALL THE THINGS!” But, I digress.

 I pan-fried my chicken thighs until they were well browned; I wanted the sugar in the pineapple juice to caramelize a bit. Then I diced them up into small pieces.

 Meet the chicken’s neighbors in this salad: celery, apple, green onions, and golden raisins.

 Mix everything up with the dressing and stuff it into pitas! Or put it between bread! Or eat it with crackers. Or on top of a bed of baby spinach. Or, you know, grab a big spoon and eat it straight out of the mixing bowl. Do what works for you.

Curry Chicken Salad

  • 2 boneless chicken thighs or breasts
  • 1/2 cup pineapple juice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped celery
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped apple
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 1/4 cup sliced green onions
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/8 cup sour cream
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • salt to taste

Marinate chicken in pineapple juice, salt, and pepper. (I let mine sit in the fridge for about an hour and a half. Do what you like). Panfry the chicken pieces in a little olive oil or butter until cooked through and well-browned. Chop the chicken into small pieces. In a small bowl, combine yogurt, sour cream, sugar, curry powder, and salt. In a large bowl, stir together chicken, celery, apple, raisins, onions, and dressing. Mix well and refrigerate until you’re ready to serve. Bon appetit!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Curry and Cadavers

    1. Thanks! The yogurt/sour cream substitution was partially to make it healthier and partly because that’s what I had on hand. Yes, I thought you might appreciate that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

