Banana Oat Muffins and Base Tautomerization

 I bake when I’m overwhelmed. The whole “med school is hard” thing is finally catching up to me. Tomorrow we have four lectures in a row and I’m not even caught up on studying the lectures from today. Thank goodness it’s almost the weekend! Unbroken study time! Woohoo!
 You might be asking yourself how I decided to bake banana muffins at 2:30 in the afternoon after getting out of a biochemistry lecture. Well, I had, on my counter, a mushy brown banana; in my fridge, some expired milk; and in my brain, no function left. You all know the first two rules of med school, right?
 This recipe was inspired by one on Allrecipes, but I overhauled it to make it healthier and more interesting. The coconut on top is one of my favorite parts. I can’t wait to have these with my morning coffee tomorrow while I sit out on my balcony and read some poignant Southern literature and maybe play my guitar while the sun rises in class for hours and hours.
Banana Oat Muffins
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup apple sauce
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 mashed banana
  • grated coconut
Directions
  1. Combine flours, oats, sugar, baking powder, soda, and salt.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the egg lightly. Stir in the milk, applesauce, and vanilla. Add the mashed banana, and combine thoroughly. Stir the flour mixture into the banana mixture until just combined. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper bake cups, and divide the batter among them. Sprinkle grated coconut on top of each muffin.
  3. Bake at 400 degrees F (205 degrees C) for 18 to 20 minutes.
2 thoughts on “Banana Oat Muffins and Base Tautomerization

Leave a Reply

