Enchiladas and Exams

I’m alive! I survived my first lab practical and my first block exam and am still smiling. After having spent the past few days studying for stretches of 12+ hours, I was ridiculously excited to do simple, normal-life stuff like sweep and Swiffer our apartment.

Once the sweeping and swiffering were finished, I decided to cook something delicious for supper tonight and treat myself. Creamy chicken enchiladas are totally comfort food and I thought the only thing that could make them even better was if I made them with fresh tortillas!

As if by providence, one of my childhood friends (who lives in New Zealand and has one of the most absolutely precious families ever) posted a recipe for tortillas to her blog just a few days ago. I followed her recipe exactly (whaaaaat?) so try it for yourself! (I split the difference and used 5 Tbs. of shortening, just for full disclosure).

Fresh tortillas, stuffed with creamy, cheesy, chicken, chile-y goodness.

And then we pour more cheesy, creamy goodness over the top and bake it until it’s all hot and happy.

I was right about the fresh tortillas. It happens occasionally, you know.

 Seriously, so good. Just what the med-student ordered. 🙂

Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

  • Six flour tortillas
  • 2 boneless chicken thighs
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can green chiles
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/8-1/4 cup milk
  • Cheddar cheese

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Saute onions and garlic together until your kitchen smells wonderful and you’re trying to convince yourself not to just eat onions and garlic for dinner. Cut your chicken into bite-sized chunks and cook with the onion and garlic. Once the chicken is cooked through, stir in green chiles, soup, sour cream, and milk. Reserve about a cup of this mixture to pour over the top of your enchiladas, once they’re assembled. Ladle filling into tortillas until you can roll them up and not have filling spilling out everywhere. This is obviously a very technical and precise procedure. I understand that you may be timid in attempting such a feat. I, however, am confident in your abilities. Believe in yourself! BE the filling! Then sprinkle cheddar cheese onto the filling, roll up tortilla, and place enchilada in a baking pan. Fill your baking pan with enchiladas, pour reserved sauce over the top, sprinkle with cheese, and bake for about 20 minutes. I used my broiler for the last couple of minutes to brown the cheese on top, but, if you choose to do so, be careful not to let it burn! Broilers can be temperamental.

Leave a Reply

