Peach Muffins and Pleiotropy

This week has flown by! It’s like I blinked and the week was gone; it was one big blur of lectures and labs. This week we’ve been studying genetic disorders like Down syndrome and Turner syndrome (and many other abnormalities that are far more devastating). I have enjoyed the lectures because I’ve always been very interested in genetics, but at the same time, it’s been hard to see picture after picture of severely malformed children. The worst part for me is that there’s nothing we can do for them. It just breaks my heart.

Early every Saturday morning I go to a women’s Bible study at my church and this morning I got to lead it! The time of fellowship is so special and it’s such an encouragement to me in the midst of this crazy med student life. 🙂 This morning I brought peach muffins to share! My cabinets are bare (I get to go grocery shopping today!) but I had a can of peaches and some flour and sugar, so I decided to see what I could come up with. These muffins were inspired by this recipe, but heavily tweaked by yours truly.

Peach Muffins

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup apple sauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1 15 oz. can of sliced peaches, drained and chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add all wet ingredients, except for peaches, and stir just til combined. Fold in chopped peaches. Fill muffin cups and bake for 20-25 minutes. This recipe made about 15 muffins for me. You could also bake this as a loaf; just increase baking time to about 1 hour.

 

2 thoughts on “Peach Muffins and Pleiotropy

Leave a Reply

