Granola Bars

DSC_3951

I’ve been on the medicine wards for the last three weeks doing my “Acting Internship,” which is basically a month where I pretend to be an intern (first year resident) on a medicine team in the hospital. I’ve really been enjoying it but our schedule is often hectic and I may not have time to sit down and eat lunch (or if I do, it’s not til late in the afternoon). I often turn to granola/energy/protein bars stashed in my white coat pocket to quiet my grumbling stomach. Since we’ve been trying to eat better, I thought I would try making my own instead of relying on the high-sugar high-price store bought variety. Turns out, granola bars are super easy and quick to make and very customizable to whatever you like/what you have in the pantry! I’ve made two batches already and have plans for many more!

DSC_3950

Granola Bars

  • Dry stuff:
    • 1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
    • 1 cup puffed grain (rice, millet, kamut)
    • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped nuts and/or seeds (sunflower, pumpkin, almonds, walnuts)
    • 1/2 cup coconut flakes
    • 1/2 cup dried fruit (cranberries, dates, raisins, blueberries, etc)
    • 1/4 cup other add-ins (flax meal, wheat germ, bran, chia seeds, etc)
  • Sticky stuff
    • 1/3 cup honey/brown rice syrup/maple syrup
    • 1/3 cup brown sugar
    • 1/3 cup coconut oil (can also use butter)
    • 1/2 tsp salt
    • 1 tsp vanilla
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Foil and grease an 8×8 baking pan. Set aside.
  2. Toss together oats, grains, nuts, and coconut flakes and spread them out on a large dry baking sheet
  3. Toast them in the oven til fragrant and golden brown, stirring occasionally
  4. Meanwhile, heat sticky stuff in a saucepan over medium heat until sugar is dissolved and mixture is bubbly. Allow to cook approximately two minutes.
  5. Remove oat and grain mixture from oven and toss with dried fruit and add-ins in a large bowl.
  6. Pour sticky stuff over dry stuff and mix well (and quickly!)
  7. Empty bowl into prepared pan and press mixture down firmly with something flat (I used a loaf pan)
  8. Allow to cool at room temperature. Remove foil from pan and cut granola block into 12 bars.
  9. Wrap bars individually in parchment paper or plastic (we used zipper sandwich bags) to keep fresh.
Leave a Reply

